Home Support

AVG Support Community

Share tips and solutions on AVG Products

Have a question?

Community topics

AVG Gurus

These community experts are here to help

  • (AB) Alan Binch
  • (BA) Borislav Angelov
  • (VB) Vladimir Bartl
  • (SK) Subhadeep Kanungo
  • (MS) Miloslav Serba
Chris CChris C 


I'm having the same issue Lynette is having. It just started today when i go to watch somenes stream on Twitch.tv. I get a notification from AVG saying it is infected with URL:TechScam. I have scanned my pc and nothing is wrong. I always go to this site and never had any issues before today.  How do I stop the notification so i can watch peoples streams again. Only works it seems if i take the WEB SHIELD OFF.

It says we've safely aborted connection on video-edge-691980.jfk04.abs.hls.ttvnw.net
Sreenu YadavalliSreenu Yadavalli (Avast)
Hello Chris,

We are glad to look into this and help you.
We request you to send us the screenshot of URL:TechScam in order to understand better and resolve it.
For taking a screenshot, please refer this article: https://bit.ly/2Uuo7xg
Thank you and please keep us updated.
Chris CChris C
Your link there doesnt show anything.
Sreenu YadavalliSreenu Yadavalli (Avast)
Hello Chris,

We are sorry to know this.
The provided link is working fine and you can try clicking on the link again.
Are you getting this URL:TechScam message only for a particular website or for all websites?
You can post the screenshot here in your topic. Click on Answer & then click on the Image [mountain symbol] & follow the instructions.
In order to analyze the website, we request you to submit the URL for analysis through this https://www.avg.com/false-positive-file-form website. 
If it is confirmed as safe, it will be whitelisted and the virus definitions database will be released through update.
You will also get the status updated via email. 
Thank you.

Ask a question
Struggling with non-AVG technology? We can fix that, too!